My life changing moment.

My official due date was a big guessing game at first. The first time I was told my due date was the 12th os January. The second time was the 8th I believe and the final one was January 10th 2012.

So there I was 39 weeks pregnant and about 3 days until due date and I felt NOTHING! Something in the back of my brain kept telling me weeks before that Caden was not going to be born on the 10th and I felt pretty sad about. I was so done being pregnant. I was ready to have my body back. No more back pain. No more stomach aches and waddling like a penguin every time I walked and no more pressure. I had almost forgot what it felt like not being pregnant.

The next few days past and my due date came along and still nothing. I went to my doctor’s office and I was only 1cm dilated and apparently I had been having contractions and I just didn’t feel them. My doctor told me that Caden’s head was really low so that when I went into labor it should be quick and delivery should be quicker. She also told me that if I didn’t go into labor naturally by the 17th that they would just induce me but she had also said that she was pretty darn sure he would be here in the next day or two.

Later that night at around 8pm my back started to hurt really bad. I couldn’t get comfortable at all and the pain just kept getting worse and worse. I was beginning to have back labor.

It got worst throughout the night and I didn’t sleep much until noon. I found it a lot more relaxing to sleep in the day time then at night.

the night of January 11th it got 5 times worse. I didn’t sleep at all and TMI but all I wanted to do was sit on the toilet. It was the only way I was getting some type of relieve.

By the morning of the 12th my back pains were so bad that I couldn’t take it. I began to cry through them and that was the sign that it was time to go to the hospital.

I get to the hospital a little after noon I believe and go to triage. The nurse checked me and told me I was only 3 cm and my contractions weren’t strong enough. That pissed me off to the max. She told me to walk up and down the hall for an hour and see if that will move things along.

So hand in hand, my boyfriend and I walked up and down the hall, stopping occasionally so that i could lean against a wall through my contraction. I was so hungry because I hadn’t eaten since the night before that all I could think of was pain and food.

An hour later we head back to the small little room and the nurse checked me again. I was 5 cm along and my contractions were about 3 to 4 min apart. My water had also broke while waiting to be admitted. So they admitted me and took me to the room where I would deliver. That was around 4pm.

I walked around the room since walking was helping the pain and I rocked in a chair which felt nice until the doctor came in to give me a epidural. I slept for about an hour after that. The best nap I ever had if I must say.

The nurse then came in and checked me again. This time she told me I was about 7 centimeters so I told Chris to call my grandparents and tell them and he did. My doctor then came in 5 min later and said I was actually 9 cm and they started to coach me to push.

I couldn’t feel a darn thing. I kept telling everybody that this was not as bad as I expected. They kept telling me to push and that they could see his head and I kept telling them they were crazy because I couldn’t feel his head moving down.

After about 20 min or less, at 7:12pm on January 12th 2012 they had my son in their hands and put him on my chest. I bawled so hard and I couldn’t even speak. My heart-felt like it jumped in my throat. He was the most beautiful thing I had ever laid eyes on. I couldn’t believe that I was actually the one to carry him for nine months. I couldn’t believe that such a wonderful human being came out of me. He was perfect in every way.

Caden and I

Caden Alexander. Born January 12th 2012 was 7 pounds and 13 ounces and 20 in long. I will never forget the day my life changed forever and god gave me a beautiful healthy son and made me, Lauren his mother and Chris his father. We were truly blessed. I adore him so. He is my world and more. I love you Caden.

P.S. He also had six fingers on each hand meaning that he has extra brain cells and let me tell you he is a smarty!! 🙂

4 comments on “My life changing moment.

Leave a Reply

