Growing up in a military family.

English: The flag, on display in Washington DC.

Basically everyone in my family has done one thing or another for our country. My grandparents were navy and so was my aunt, and my mom and dad were army.

At a young age (I think when I was about 4 years old and my first brother was 2) my parents spilt up and got divorced. From there my mom remarried to man whom she later on divorced for very good reasons and my father also remarried to a woman who had the same classes as him in school and was also in the army.

Of course when two people who have kids decide to divorce they have to figure out an arrangement for child custody. Especially since one parent continued living in Germany on orders (my dad) and the other parent moved back to the states (my mom, she got out of the army after a few years). So of course, as many parents who are divorced cannot do is agree on a plan. So they went to court and my father got custody of my brother and I.

So with that said, I was four years old and lived in Germany with my father, brother and step mom and since my father was in the army (and to this day still is) that meant that for the rest of my childhood life I would never be able to settle in one place very long.

When people ask me where I am from or where do I call home I tell them I don’t have a home because in my eyes I really don’t. I didn’t have friends that have been my friends since kindergarden. I didn’t stay in one household all my life. The closest I had to a home I would consider my grandma and grandpas house in a small but large town in Oregon. They are the only family members I have that have stayed in one spot my entire life. So when I went to visit it was easy to make long term friends (which I have four really awesome ones) because I knew they would be there when I came back to visit since they were family friends that have also lived in the same town for awhile and that went to my grandmas church.

After Germany we moved back to the states to Washington state. I liked it there because we were only a 3 hour drive to my grandparents house and a 2-3 plane ride to Nevada where my mom lived. I started second grade in Washington. I loved to write and dance and play in the woods and I also played soccer and softball. We ended up staying in Washington until half way through my sixth grade year when my step mom decided she wanted to live closer to her family since the birth of my little sister.

So we packed our bags and headed to Maryland. I loved it there too. I had a lot of cousins my age that I hung out with and I also made four best friends from school. Maryland is where I became interested in boys. I had a lot of crushes through middle school but none of them really liked me because I was a bit on the chubby side (it was mostly baby fat). I finished middle school and started my freshman year of high school (which I consider the worst year of my life home wise). At the beginning of my freshman year my dad got orders to go to Fayetteville Nc and since it was about a six hour drive my dad decided that he would just get a apartment there and come home weekends since he didn’t think he was staying there long. So I went all year thinking this is it I finally get to stay in one school until I graduate. But Boy was I wrong.

I moved to Fayetteville, NC in August of 2008 and pretty much that is where my real adventures as a teen started.

6 comments on “Growing up in a military family.

Leave a Reply

